Grief Lessons: Four Plays by Euripi [Audiobook] download free by Euripides

Grief Lessons: Four Plays by Euripi Audiobook download free by Euripides
  • Listen audiobook: Grief Lessons: Four Plays by Euripi
  • Author: Euripides
  • Release date: 2008/10/15
  • Language: English
  • Genre or Collection: Poetry and Drama
  • ISBN: 9781590172537
  • Rating: 7.3 of 10
  • Votes: 724
  • Review by: Wade Lay
  • Review rating: 8.34 of 10
  • Review Date: 2018/9/8
  • Duration: 3H58M2S in 256 kbps (62.4 MB)
  • Date of creation of the audiobook: 2018-09-07
  • You can listen to this audiobook in formats: WAV, MP3, WMA Lossless, WMA, MPEG4, FLAC, MPEG-4 ALS (compression ARJ, CBC, TGZ, ZIP, RAR)
  • Total pages original book: 312
  • Includes a PDF summary of 26 pages
  • Duration of the summary (audio): 19M31S (5.2 MB)
  • Description or summary of the audiobook: Now in paperback. Euripides, the last of the three great tragedians of ancient Athens, reached the height of his renown during the disastrous Peloponnesian War, when democratic Athens was brought down by its own outsized ambitions. 'Euripides,' the classicist Bernard Knox has written, 'was born never to live in peace with himself and to prevent the rest of mankind from doing so.' His plays were shockers: he unmasked heroes, revealing them as foolish and savage, and he wrote about the powerless-women and children, slaves and barbarians-for whom tragedy was not so much exceptional as unending. Euripides' plays rarely won first prize in the great democratic competitions of ancient Athens, but their combustible mixture of realism and extremism fascinated audiences throughout the Greek world. In the last days of the Peloponnesian War, Athenian prisoners held captive in far-off Sicily were said to have won their freedom by reciting snatches of Euripides' latest tragedies. Four of those tragedies are presented here in new translations by the contemporary poet and classicist Anne Carson. They are Herakles, in which the hero swaggers home to destroy his own family; Hekabe, set after the Trojan War, in which Hektor's widow takes vengeance on her Greek captors; Hippolytos, about love and the horror of love; and the strange tragic-comedy fable Alkestis, which tells of a husband who arranges for his wife to die in his place. The volume also contains brief introductions by Carson to each of the plays along with two remarkable framing essays: 'Tragedy: A Curious Art Form' and 'Why I Wrote Two Plays About Phaidra.'
  • Other categories, genre or collection: Poetry By Individual Poets, Plays, Playscripts
  • Download servers: FreakShare, Uploaded, Pixeldrain, MEGA, Nextcloud, FileServe, Torrent, Google Drive. Compressed in ARJ, CBC, TGZ, ZIP, RAR
  • Format: Paperback
  • Approximate value: 13.04 USD
  • Dimensions: 138x204x18mm
  • Weight: 355g
  • Printed by: NYRB Classics
  • Published in: New York, United States

Download audiobook in:

Option 1

Option 2

Option 3

Option 4

Option 5


More audiobooks of the genre or collection Poetry and Drama

More audiobooks of the publisher THE NEW YORK REVIEW OF BOOKS, INC

More audiobooks of Euripides

More audiobooks of 2008

More audiobooks in language English